This article is sponsored by Maryland Injury Guys, the worker's compensation attorneys of Dickeyville. Explore the quaint community of Dickeyville and visit all of the unique homes located here.
The Dickeyville Historic District is located inside the western edge of Baltimore City, Maryland, close to the intersection of Interstate-695 and Interstate-70. This tight-knit community comprises of 140 homes, a historic mill, and two main roads – Pickwick R. and Wetheredsville Rd.
In the late 1600s to 1800s, Dickeyville was known as Franklinville and Wetheredsville as its village began to grow. The village of Dickeyville grew along the banks of the Gwynns Falls. The name Gwynn came from one of the first settlers in the town. Richard Gwin, or Gwynn, was a Welshman who had an excellent reputation in trading with the Algonquian Indians.
In 1719, Richard Gwin's son-in-law, Peter Bond, built the first mill on the Gwynns Falls. The next mill was established in 1762 when Swiss mill owner, Wimbert Tschudi, decided to build a gristmill and stone house. Some say that parts of this mill's ruins may still be at the original location today.
In the early 1800s, the town became known as Franklinville for the Franklin Paper Mill. However, in 1829, Samuel, John and Charles Wethered transformed the paper mill into a woolen cloth manufacturer. The three brothers also built the Ashland Mill on the village's east side, around 30 stone houses for workers, a school, and a church. They then decided to change the village's name to Wetheredville.
In the mid to late 1800s, the brothers sold Ashland Manufacturing company and their property to William J. Dickey. Dickey came from Ballymena, Ireland, bought 300 acres of houses and three mills in the village for $82,000. With a newly influential figure in town, the village flourished and advanced with new developments. Some of the established include homes for the mill workers, a Presbyterian church, a manse, and a village store. After Dickey's death in 1896, the village's name was changed to Dickeyville.
In 1909, his family sold out to the Glasgow Mills, but the mill soon closed due to the decline of the textile business. As a result, the once-successful village became a town of crime. In 1934, most of the Dickey properties were sold in an auction for $42,000. Restoration of the properties began shortly after that. The new structures that were constructed following these restorations had to incorporate the history and integrity of the village and existing buildings. In 1968, Dickeyville was listed in the National Register of Historic Places.
Located on Wetheredsville Rd. is the Dickey Memorial Presbyterian Church (DMPC). As a devoted Presbyterian, William J. Dickey wanted to have a Presbyterian Sunday School for his family, employees and friends. The church was built in 1885 and complete in 1889 as the Presbyterian Church of Wetheredsville, or Wetheredville Presbyterian Church.
In 1896, the name was changed to Dickey Memorial Presbyterian Church. The church is still in operation today and holds sermons weekly. DMPC is also the focal point of Dickeyville's holiday celebrations. It hosts community potlucks, Christmas caroling and Fourth of July parades. On regular days, it hosts events such as the following:
Built in 1872, the tall, stone General Grant style house was the former warehouse for the mills. In 1932, it was restored as an art studio for Baltimore muralist, R.McGill Mackall. Ever since then, the warehouse has been occupied by artists. Currently, the owner is sculptor Barry Johnston. His work can be seen on display in the yard.
Built on the land given by the Wethereds family in 1848, the Ashland Chapel is said to be the most impressive home in Dickeyville. In the 1960s, the founder of Caedmon Records, Barbara Holdridge, convert it into a charming home by Barbara Holdridge, founder of Caedmon Records. The Ashland Chapel continues to be a private residence today.
One of the most distinctive homes in Dickeyville, this tall four-story stone house was built by William Hendrick in 1848. It features a central chimney, four stories with two rooms on each floor, and dressed blocks.
Looking for more to do close by? Discover the area of Winsten Estates, Maryland.
Contact our Dickeyville worker's compensation lawyers if you or a loved one suffer from work-related injuries that are affecting your daily life. Schedule your free consultation today.
Maryland Injury Guys
6666 Security Boulevard Blvd. #4,
Baltimore, MD 21207